Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission plays a crucial role in preserving and safeguarding the rich historical heritage of our community.  The commission aims to ensure the preservation of historically significant structures, districts, landmarks, and sites for the enjoyment and education of present and future generations. The Historic Preservation Commission is entrusted with the following responsibilities to assist the City in:

  • Promoting the educational, cultural, economic, and general welfare of the public by recognizing, enhancing, and potentially perpetuating sites and districts of historical and cultural significance.
  • Stabilizing and improving property values within the community.
  • Fostering a sense of pride in the legacy of beauty and accomplishments of the past.
  • Safeguarding and enhancing the City's appeal to tourists, visitors, and businesses alike.
  • Strengthening the local economy by preserving and promoting the City's historic resources.
  • Encouraging the use of sites and districts of historical and cultural significance as spaces for education, enjoyment, and the overall well-being of the community.

The Historic Preservation Commission encourages community members who are passionate about preserving our city's history to get involved. Opportunities for involvement may include serving as a volunteer, participating in public meetings or becoming a commissioner.

Historic Preservation Commissioners

  • Larry Hurto, Chair 
    • Term expires 2024
  • Mike Sell
    • Term expires 2025
  • Tanya Michener
    • Term expires 2024
  • Rita Reinheimer
    • Term expires 2025
  • There is currently on vacancy on this commission.

Commission members' terms expire on December 31.

View agendas and minutes from board, commission and committee meetings